Insurance - Bail Bond Agent Pre-Licensure Course

Register Online Print Registration Registration By Mail

*Tuition for this course is $375.00 

Course Description

The Bail Bond Agent Pre-Licensure open enrollment, online course, provides the tools and knowledge to start your career track as a temporary licensure bail bond agent. You will be instructed by two of our most qualified educators, Sally Burt and Bob Dicker. Sally Burt was the State Bail Bond Coordinator in the Department of Insurance for 19 years and is currently an Officer and Director of an insurance company that writes bail. Bob Dicker has 24 years of experience as an FBI Special Agent and has been a Licensed Bail Bonds Agent for 20 years. More details about the instructors can be found below. After the course is completed, you will be able to: define and discuss key terms, be familiar with Florida Statutes Chapters 648 and 903 as well as the Administrative Rules of the Chief Financial Officer, discuss contracts, explain how the bail bond business operates legally and effectively, write and underwrite bonds, and explain how bondsmen are regulated in Florida.

There are 5 graded written assignments and one proctored final examination. A score of 70 or above on the final exam is required to successfully pass the course. This course has an open enrollment period so you may enroll at any time and are allowed up to one year to complete the course.

Before enrolling you should review the 5 Steps to receiving your Temporary License. You can find the face-to-face 120 hour course schedule here: http://bailbonding.com/school.

Register today and let us help you find success as a bail bond agent!

 

Click here to learn more about the Department of Financial Services Requirements

The Insurance Pre-Licensing Bail Bond Agent Qualification course is one of several requirements set by the Department of Financial Services for those interested in the Limited Surety Agents license (2-34) and the Professional Bail Bondsman license (2-37).

This is a pre-licensure course and does not provide continuing education units (CEUs). The course consists of 5 required written assignments and one final examination. It is offered in an online format, with an alternative print-based version for students lacking regular internet access.

To obtain the step-by-step process to become a bail bond agent in Florida, visit the Florida Department of Financial Services website.

 

Click here to learn more about the Instructors

Sally Burt

Ms. Burt was the State Bail Bond Coordinator in the Department of Insurance (now Department of Financial Services) from October 1984 until January 2003. She then worked in Miami from January 2003 until September 2006 as Director of Operations for a bail bond general agency. She returned to Tallahassee in September of 2006 and opened a bail bond agency where she actively wrote bail for several years. Currently, she is an Officer and Director of an insurance company that writes bail.

Bob Dicker

Mr. Dicker has 24 years of experience as an FBI Special Agent. He has undertaken extensive work in training law enforcement officers and other security personnel in security management, loss prevention, crime resistance, limited surety and defensive tactics. Mr. Dicker has been a Licensed Bail Bonds Agent since 1995. He has also been providing Limited Surety Agent instruction for over 20 years. 

 

Click here to learn about the Textbook

There is no required textbook. The course is self-contained.

You will receive a study guide upon registration. Please contact the Professional Development office if you have not received this material. 

Click here to learn about the Policies

Withdrawal Policy

A tuition refund will be granted after written request for withdrawal from a course within 30 days of enrollment. This request must be in writing, and may be sent by fax, email, or U.S. mail. All requests will receive written responses. Refunds will be the amount of tuition, less a $25.00 processing charge. No refunds are granted after 30 days.

Course Extension Policy

If a student does not complete the program within the allowed one-year period, the program will expire. Based on individual circumstances participants can request an extension. If approved, they will be charged an administrative fee of $100 and receive an additional 6 months to complete the course.

 

5 Steps to receiving your Temporary License: